About Sarawak

Sarawak is the largest of Malaysia’s 13 States and one of the two States located on the third largest island in the world -- Borneo. Known as the Land of the Hornbills, it is a unique and diverse gem in terms of its population, culture, geography and history.

Sarawak’s economy has been transformed in recent years, as the state diversifies away from its traditional reliance on mining, agriculture and forestry. Today, the government is developing the state’s infrastructure, high-tech industries and renewable energy sources with the aim of creating 1.5 million jobs and long-term economic prosperity by 2030.

Sarawak’s head of state is the Yang di-Pertua Negeri (or Governor). The State practises democracy system and the executive body is headed by Chief Minister.